Archive for April, 2011

Video: When Saints Go Machine – Add Ends

When Saints Go Machine

Yesterday I posted about 4 free danish complication albums and one of those comps includes When Saints Go Machine which are getting  a very deserved amount of attention lately. So check out that post to get some free music. Then head over to When Saints Go machine’s Facebook page and click “Like”. When you do so you will get 3 free tracks from their E.P. Fail Forever. And if that isn’t enough you can go pre-order their upcoming album Konkylie (available June 21st).

For a sample of what the new album is like check out the video and mp3 after the jump

, , , , ,

Leave a comment

Video: Shabazz Palaces – Blastit

Great song and amazing video via Gorilla vs Bear

This video contains footage from the upcoming documentary by Village Beat titled Tough Bond — a film about kids sniffing glue to survive street life in Kenya‘s disappearing villages and exploding urban slums.

Original documentary score was provided by Shabazz Palaces.

Learn more about the film and cause on the Village Beat Non-Profit Company page on Facebook​pages/​Village-Beat/​204222116262502

, , , , ,

1 Comment

Music: Free Danish Compilations

Two Sides Of The Same Summer

Indiean Music

Winter Wonders

The Sound Of Your Grandmother's Lover

Wonders Make Joy now have 4 compilations of known and up and coming artists for free download. Some personal favorites are Sleep Party People, When Saints Go MachineTrentemøller and My Name Is Legion. There is a large amount of variety here and I am sure you will find more than few new favorite bands.

Full list of artists

, , , , , , ,

1 Comment

Listen: Burst Apart by The Antlers

The Antlers [holga]

Image by Bryan Bruchman via Flickr

Right now NPR is streaming The Antlers’ new album Burst Apart. Go listen while the stream is available.

, , , ,


News: The Knife announce they are recording an album for release in 2012

The Knife have reported on their site that they are recording a new album for 2012. I will post when more details are released.

, , , ,

Leave a comment

Album: Lapalux – Many Faces Out Of Focus EP

I just heard Lapalux (Soundcloud) this morning on in a post written by Elizabeth Walker and I could barely make it through the post before jumping over to iTunes and buying this E.P..  For those that like James Blake, Mount Kimbie, Holy Other and oOoOO  get ready to be excited. R&B vocals are warped and pushed into the ghostly realm, jazzy piano floats in and out, hip-hop beats are chopped and stutter sexually while electro pulses flirt. According to iTunes I have been playing Many Faces Out Of Focus for 7 hours, it all just blurs into this sexy, shimmery, haze that I never want to end.

Time, Patience, Everything

Buy at Amazon iTunes  Boomkat Juno Download

, , , , , ,

Leave a comment

News: Arms and Sleepers Announce New Album Pre-Order

Arms & Sleepers have announced their next album The Organ Hearts is available for pre-order. The album will have less guitars and more electronics according to the release blurb:

Unlike Matador, the band’s sophomore effort, the new record features significantly less guitar and focuses more on electronics and drum-heavy compositions. Pulsing beats and driving synths replace the lush glockenspiels and melodicas of the previous album, while concise song structures and haunting melodies remain.

People that pre-order will also get an exclusive digital E.P. sometime this summer.

Lisbon from Nostalgia for the Absolute

Track Listing
01. Kepesh
02. Tusk
03. I Sing The Body Electric
04. The Afternoon Child
05. A Smile In Sofia
06. Antwerp
07. Serie Noire
08. Reprise
09. Yesterday’s Child
10. Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye
11. Atelier
12. Airport Blues

, , , , , ,

Leave a comment

News: Next DJ-Kicks by Motor City Drum Ensemble

!K7 has just announced the Motor City Drum Ensemble (Danilo Plessow) is mixing the next DJ-Kicks  (available late July 2011).

The mix features Plessow’s expert selections from a wide array of genres (“A classic Dj kicks, not just a house mix,” he says), including free jazz, cosmic disco, and afrobeat, with dedicated sequences of tracks giving the nod to classic Chicago house and a short list of the masters of production over the last several decades.  Get a look the tracklist below, and look for some tasty tidbits coming soon right here!

Track List:

1. Sun Ra – Door To The Cosmos
2. Electric Wire Hustle – Again (Scratch 22 Remix)
3. Rhythm & Sound – Mango Drive
4. Tony Allen – Ariya
5. Peven Everett – Stuck (Original)
6. Bad Jazz Troupe – Breakdown Treat – Dusty Rework (MCDE Edit)
7. Mr. Fingers – The Juice
8. Rick “Poppa” Howard – Can Your Love Find It’s Way (Club Vocal)
9. Stone – Girl I Like The Way That You Move (Dub)
10. Fred P – On This Vibe
11. Creative Swing Alliance – Don’t Forget Your Keyz
12. Geraldo Pino & The Heartbeats – Black Woman Experience
13. Philippe Sarde – Le Cortège Et Course
14. Robert Hood – The Pace
15. Loose Joints – Pop Your Funk (Vocal Version)
16. Arts & Crafts – I’ve Been Searching (Walter Gibbons 12” Mix)
17. Motor City Drum Ensemble – L.O.V.E. (DJ-Kicks)
18. Aphex Twin – Actium
19. Recloose – Cardiology (Isolée Mix)
20. Latecomer – Cosmic Cart
21. Timo Lassy – African Rumble
22. James Mason – Sweet Power, Your Embrace

One of his rough cuts to listen to while you wait. Oh and Happy 4/20.

, , , ,

1 Comment

News: Neaon Indian teaser video for next album

Thanks to Gorilla vs. Bear for posting this vid of Neon Indian wandering in Helsinki while an excerpt of Heart:Attack plays in the background. Let’s hope this means the album is close to ready for release.


Leave a comment

News: ISAM by Amon Tobin is now available!


Amon Tobin has released his new album ISAM for digital download ($8.00) plus a slew of premium options.  You can stream/buy the album at Amon’s website. The deluxe package ($65) looks tempting:

The deluxe edition package will come with a full colour 10″ x 7″  hardback book, which features exclusive images of the ISAM collaborative installation between Amon and Saatchi collection artist Tessa Farmer. The book also incorporates exclusive interviews with both Amon Tobin and Tessa Farmer, on the themes and inspiration behind ISAM, and on their groundbreaking project together.

The package also includes:

Instant Download of Audio

Limited Edition CD*

Double Vinyl*


, , ,

Leave a comment


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

%d bloggers like this: